9/11-Never Forget (Repost from 2008)

 

I have heard recently discussions on talk radio about whether or not we should continue to spend time today remembering the tragedies or should we simply “move on.”  I’m no psychologist, but I don’t know how you ever “move on” from having thousands of innocent American murdered by individuals bent on destroying our entire Country and way of life.  I don’t know how you “move on” from seeing people jump 90+ stories to their death to avoid being burned alive.  I don’t know how you “move on” from watching a plane live on TV purposely crash into a skyscraper in our largest city during the beginning of a work day.  I don’t know how you “move on” from learning of the story of the brave passengers of United 93 and their suicidal attack on the terrorists that ultimately saved our Capitol Building from being destroyed.

From my 38 years of experience I have learned that “sticking your head in the sand” is an ineffective way of dealing with anything.  If I was the producer of a major network news station I would replay the video footage of the events on the evening news every 9/11 that I remain on this Earth to remind us that there is a purpose in having a strong military, that there is a purpose in having a national defense strategy, that there is a purpose in making sure we know something about the immigrants who come into our Country, that there are a large group of human beings whose religious beliefs dictate their desire to destroy our Country.  We can send dipolmats and politicians and Johnny Depp and Jimmy Carter to as many “peace talks” as will make us feel all warm and fuzzy but the reality of 9/11 is that we will always be the enemy to these people becuase we don’t have the same beliefs that they do and because we are allied with Israel (as we should be).

When I heard the replay of the news report this morning of the towers being hit I could not help but shed tears once again.  When I remember that day it reminds me that our brave men and women fighting in the middle east are fighting for a purpose.  We need allies and stability in that region.  They are not going to come from Iran, Syrian, Jordan, Yemen, UAE, Egypt, Turkey, or any other country that hates Israel.  So establishing a democracy in Iraq and establishing stability will hopefully avoid a future 9/11 or at least put it off for a very long time.

I hope you are remembering 9/11 today and I hope that you are proud to live in the best Country in the world.  The next time you want to just get in your car and drive to the lake, or the hills, or the mountains, or the beach and stop and eat at any of a million chioces and stay at any number of hotels, I hope then that you remember that freedom is something worth fighting for–and thank God we live in a free Country.

 -Murphy

 P.S.–It is not a coincidence that Osama bin Laden is mad at the Democrats for not stopping the war.  Democrats want to bring the troops home and so does Osama–I guess we know how he would vote in ’08 if he was here.

Explore posts in the same categories: 1, Current Events, Fascism, Government, Iraq, Life, Military, News, Patriotism, Terrorists

Leave a Reply

