40 Years Old! Yikes!

Yesterday I turned the corner from youth to middle age.  No, I’m not telling you this so you will wish me Happy Birthday or buy me a nice new car, or even a new suit or an XBox 360 or whatever you feel like.   ANYWAY–I thought I’d share my reflections on the significance of the day, if any.

I discovered as I approached this momentus occasion that it was weighing me down a bit.  I know, “It’s just another day,” “40 is the new 30,” “40 is Fabulous,” “You don’t look a day over 39,” blah, blah, blah.

But I can’t help it–I felt burdened.  It is a lot of years–What in the world have I done with them?

The first 10 years were spent grown from a baby to a kid.  We all do that–no real concerns with time spent during that period.

The next 10 are spent getting an education, discovering life, trying things you shouldn’t, acting horrifically selfish and wondering what you will be doing if and when you grow up.  We all did this so that isn’t really much of a concern either.  Espcially since I did, in fact, survive that time period.

It’s the next 20 that deserve real attention.  I have started asking myself the following:

-Have I given more than I have taken?

-Have I set an example for right or a reference for wrong?

-Have I thanked all of those who deserve it?

-Have I forgiven all of those who don’t?

-Have I made the world better for being in it?

-Have I been more selfish than selfless?

-Have I accomplihshed what I should have by this point?

-Have I been a good husband, father, friend, co-worker, boss, colleague?

YIKES!  I had way to many “no’s” to those questions.  And no, I’m not talking about wondering why I never sky-dived (dove?), swam with dolphins, drove a corvette or tried recreational drugs.  I’m not talking about a traditional mid-life crisis here–just a reflection on time that is now gone.

The real question is:  “Have I been an asset to the world or a liability?”

When you start asking these questions you end up looking at the calendar and thinking “Yikes, I may only have 20-40 years left to fix the mess I’ve made.”  That is when the burden of age starts to grow on your back like a big monster.

I know what you are thinking-you didn’t come here to read an episode of Dr. Phil.  Where is the comparrison of Nancy Pelosi to Naked Spiderman?  Where is the rant about why the media is trying everything it can to elect Obama–even to lie about polls and statistics and declare McCain dead?  (coming)

Sometimes you have to be serious–just for a moment.

Well, my contemplation has led me to some real truths:

1.  You cannot reclaim the past–it is gone.

2. People matter–even the “bad” ones-reconcile, reconcile, reconcile–you cannot show love and forgiveness to a dead person.

3. The world revolves around the sun and we are ON the world–We are NOT the sun.

4.  Others before self–otherwise self will grow old without any others.

5. Dark Chocoate and Red wine is a combination made in Heaven. (Okay, I already knew that one).

-I don’t care if you are 10, 40 or 80.  This is the life you have–use it wisely.

-And for those of you worried about 40–here is the truth about it that I discovered this weekend:

1.  It rained 40 days and 40 nights–THEN the sun shone brightly.

2.  The Israelites wandered the wilderness aimlessly for 40 years-THEN they went into the Promised Land.

3. Goliath taunted the armies of Israel for 40 days-THEN David killed him with a sling and a stone.

4. Jesus fasted 40 days-THEN he defeated the temptations of the Devil

So 40 is the end of the turmoil and the hardship and the beginning of all that is good.  (okay-that is a real oversimplification, but just go with it.

So…big deal, the past is done–let’s start shining today and be an asset to this great world we live in…

 

….AND NOW BACK TO YOUR REGULARLY SCHEDULED CONSERVATIVE RANTS

-Murphy

Explore posts in the same categories: Current Events, Family, Life, Me, Thoughts on the World

One Comment on “40 Years Old! Yikes!”

  1. Patrick Corcoran Says:

    Belated Happy Birthday, kid!

    Patrick


Leave a Reply

