Barbara Walters and the Death of “Shame”

Congratulations you selfish, arrogant, heartless piece of garbage-Barbara Walters.  I have always been very neutral when it comes to Barbara Walters.  I think that some of her interviews are childish and idiotic and some are thoughtful and interesting.  I thought she did a fair job on 20/20 over the years and have generally felt like she was a liberal who was decent at staying “fairly”neutral when reporting the news.  But this latest celebrity admission of sexual dishonesty really has me steamed.  Hang with me for a moment as I try to explain why this is so wrong without my head actually exploding.

First of all, whether she had an affair with anyone is not my concern.  I really frankly, could care less.  That is up to her and her partner(s) in crime to deal with.  I have several problems with the recent admissions of NY Governors and others about past affairs.  It appears that these self-centered media hogs are actually wearing such indiscretions as badges of honor.  It’s almost as if they are glad they participated in an activity that could have devastated families and marriages.  Where is the shame?

Our Country has lost the idea of “shame.”  What is Shame?  It is “the painful feeling arising from the consciousness of something dishonorable, improper, ridiculous, etc., done by oneself or another.”  And we have lost it!

Where is the shame when your pastor spews hate-filled anti-American racists comments from the pulpit for you and your CHILDREN to hear?  Where is the shame when you prosecute people for committing crimes all the while commit them yourself?  Where is the shame in claiming to understand war because you landed on an airstrip during sniper fire when in fact you made up the entire event?  Where is the shame when you stand before Americans and claim you have never been proud to be an American?  Where is the shame when you continually claim that Bush lied about the war when you know good and well that such a claim is itself a lie?  Where is the shame in going to a terrorist organization to have tea and cookies during a war–with terrorists?  Where is the shame in news, billboards, Britney Spears, Rev. Wright, the democrat party, prime-time TV?   It’s dead!

And now, Barbara Walters thinks it is perfectly fine to reveal an affair that she describes as “exciting” (duh–it was an affair–helllllooooooo) that happened many years ago.  Maybe, just maybe I wouldn’t be so mad if Senator Brooke and his entire family were dead–but they are not.

Edward Brooke

But hey, who cares right?  Who cares about the fact that he is 88 years old, married and has 3 children.  I’m sure none of those people are affected by Ms. Walter’s attempt to sell more copies of her upcoming book.  Besides–its the American way, cheat on your spouse, lie about it for years until it reaches near irrelevancy, then spring it on the public in a shameless attempt to sell books all the while dragging a helpless family into the mud.  What a piece of crap she is!  And now, his daughters, son and current wife have to deal with a media frenzy aching for a juicy tidbit about whether he also thought it was “exciting.”  I hope he comes out and says that an affair with her was “horribly dull and boring” and that he only kept it going because he was “scared to death of her.”

There is NO reason for her to reveal this information now except for personal financial gain and noteriety.  Selfish, selfish, selfish piece of crap!

As if that is not enough–she reveals to Oprah (a former news reporter by the way–not a therapist) that her younger sisters mental handicaps used to embarass her as a child.  WHERE IS THE SHAME?

Our Country better wake up–Shame is not a bad thing.  Shame keeps us in check when we or others do things that are—shameful.  My children do not see PG-13 movies because they are not 13.  My children do not watch prime-time TV except for Dancing with the Stars–and even then I have to hide their eyes and ears during commercial breaks.  Why?  Because the content of the TV and such movies is —shameful.

Barbara–when you do something that is shameful, like having an affair with a US Senator who is married-be embarassed, be remorseful, be shamed–do not use such filth to glorify yourself and add to your pocketbook.  As my grandmother would say–you ought to be ashamed of yourself–you ought to be, but you clearly are not.

—ON a completely different note—I recieved the following flyer on my door yesterday: 

 So I suppose if one of my trees contracts Herpes, I know who to call.  Sorry-that was shameful.

-Murphy

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: 1, Current Events, Family, funny, Humor, Life, News, Parenting, Satire, Thoughts on the World

10 Comments on “Barbara Walters and the Death of “Shame””

  1. kristiane Says:

    Ha, great flier. Seems that May Day is prime time for fliers to be handed out door to door. I got more than I knew what to do with yesterday.
    Oh, and BW is kinda kooky if you ask me.

  2. Longing for Holiday Says:

    I feel like we are in a time when what is wrong seems right and what is right seems wrong. It’s madness.

  3. Nigel Says:

    Wow…awesome post, Murphy. Gonna link to that this weekend when I have time if you don’t mind…

  4. womanat35 Says:

    You got a point.

  5. mklasing Says:

    Nigel–go ahead, thanks for the comment

    Woman–Thanks, sometimes I worry that the point gets lost. 😉

    Total: Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Dusty Says:

    Perfect Murphy!!!

  7. mklasing Says:

    Dusty: Thanks–you might be able to tell that this one really struck a nerve with me.

  8. sharprightturn Says:

    MK –
    I find it interesting that she comes out about her affair with a black Senator just as Obama may be the first black nominee for President.
    It is almost as if Baba WaWa has to show how much she loves black politicians at this time in history—-
    sort of that white guilt thing……

    Just a thought….anyway….great post….
    Shame—I am afraid–has been thrown upon the heap of ashes along with modesty, loyalty, and truthfulness.

  9. mklasing Says:

    sharp-you are so right. I thought about making that connection but figured I’d bring about 100 comments about what a “racist” I am for saying that. It is VERY interesting timing. I’m not a Roswell conspiracy theorist–but I think it is obviously planned.

    So shameful of you to suggest. 😉


Leave a Reply

