Challenges of Parenting–Is All Lost?

As a parent of 3 kids I find that the most challenging thing is being a filter.  You know, the world sends images and information and you have to filter it before your kids see/hear it.  For example, not really appropriate for my 5 year old to go with me to see “Saw IV” (unless he has been bad–then I could tell him that this is what Santa does to kids that are bad).

As they get older, I have such difficult decisions to make.  Like, when can they see a “PG-13” movie, when can they get their ears pierced, when can they have their first Botox injection, when can they date…  I suppose my dream, like many dads, is that my kids will grow up making wise decisions, find a person to love them forever and live to a ripe old age happy, healthy and wealthy.

 But then, I see something like this and I think–all is lost, I might as well go back to blogging, eat dark chocolate by the pound and spend my money taking trips with my wife to Napa Valley. 

untitled.JPG

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Humor, Life, Parenting, Thoughts on the World

Leave a Reply

