No First Amendment in Russia

Last week a story ran detailing a Russian Mayor’s ban on certain phrases.  Alexander Kuzmin, the 33-year-old mayor of Megion, has banned the following phrases from anyone that works in the town’s government offices:

“I don’t know,” “I can’t,” “What can we do?” “It’s not my job,” “It’s impossible,” “I’m having lunch,” “There is no money,” and “I was away/sick/on vacation” among others (25 in all).  Staff members can be fired for uttering any of these phrases.  Yes, FIRED!

Remember–In America, the First Amendment prohibits the “State” from restricting your right to free speech.  Technically speaking, your employer could restrict you from saying certain things or fire you for speech (such as insubordinate speech).  In this case, the employer is also the “State.”   Makes you appreciate our Country a little more.

 But…as I think about it, what if I was to pass such a rule in my home (assuming I could enforce it with some kind of penalty)–Here is my proposed list of banned phrases:

“The garbage is full,” “We need a new couch,” “Can you help me on the computer for a minute,” “Why do I have to wait until I’m 9 to get my ear’s pierced?” “The fish tank really needs to be cleaned,” “What projects should we do this weekend?” “Let’s hang some pictures,” and of course, “I’m really tired tonight.”

 Just a thought.

 -Murphy

Explore posts in the same categories: Current Events, Family, Law, Life, News

Leave a Reply

