I Can’t Tell You How Sorry I Am–Seriously, I Can’t

So the mayor of London gave an emotional apology for London’s role in the slave trade that was banned in England 200 years ago.  Reverend Jesse Jackson praised the move and was reported to have put his arm around the mayor and thank him.  Now, of course, Rev. Jackson is asking that London pay reparations to slave descendants.

Seriously?  No living person on this Earth (currently) has ever owned an African slave–except of course other Africans who enslave members of their own continent.  America banned it 144 years ago.   Asking for repentance and then extortion is absurd in light of these facts.  Don’t get me wrong–slavery was horrible and thank our heavenly Father it was abolished, but Jackson needs to move past it since all slaves and slave owners are currently under ground–literally.

 I refer you to a great article about reparations–Ten Reasons Why Reparations for Blacks is a Bad Idea for Blacks – and Racist Too by David Horowitz.

But in case you are not convinced then I suppose I have some apologizing to do myself.  After all I descended from Germans, Irish and Britains.  Therefore, to the extent an ancestor of mine took any role in the slave trade, I humbly apologize.  To the extent an ancestor of mine, had children who remained in Germany after my direct line came here in the 1700’s, and if any of them took any role in the Nazi party (although I am unaware of such a role) I apologize for that too.  If any of my Irish ancestors’ descendants became members of either the IRA or the other group in Ireland and killed anyone, then I apologize.  I know my German ancestors were Bakers by trade so I apologize if anyone has died of heart failure brought on by high choleterol by eating too much of some food that originated in Germany and was cooked there originally by any of my ancestors.

Further, I am an attorney-and I’m sorry.

I like Billy Joel-and I’m sorry.

I used to have red hair, now I don’t and I’m sorry.

I drive a foreign car and I’m truly sorry for that.

If any product I own or consume was made by a company that mistreats its employees, then I’m sorry.

I’m a Christian, I fear God and I will gladly proclaim the name of Jesus Christ as my savior and for that—well—I’m just not sorry.

I love the Longhorns of the University of Texas–and well frankly, I’m not sorry for that either.

 Rev. Jackson–for your relative insignificance in the world, your tired extortion tactics and your ridiculous philosophies on life and the community you allegedly “support,”  I’m really sorry.

 -Murphy

Explore posts in the same categories: Current Events, Life, News, Politics

3 Comments on “I Can’t Tell You How Sorry I Am–Seriously, I Can’t”

  1. Smokin Joe Says:

    Damn, personally, I thought the Rev. Jesse Jackson was doing a good job at moving himself more out of the spotlight, and into more of a diplomatic role. While I don’t see him as the King of Black people throughout the world, it was a nice gesture to have him there – and he could have respectfully and very thoughtfully accepted.

    But unfortunately, he seemed to not have brought anything original to the event. It really sucks, because I feel it unfairly undermines how powerful an apology this could have been.

    Slavery was, and is a horrendous aspect of Human Nature, and it also was an underlying idea during the worst events during the United States’ History.

    Something I find interesting is the relatively unknown fact that life for a Black person in America, especially in the South, was perhaps worse than during Slavery. There were so many laws created to keep Blacks in jail and working for the State (free) in Chain Gangs where conditions were so disgusting I find it more shameful the post-slavery era isn’t taught at all.

    Families separated, and as ‘prisoners’ they were able to be abused and worked to the bone. And even on Plantations, slave owners DID have a bond with their workers and their families. However, we all can agree that abolishing slavery did end one of the worst chapters of American History – however it hardly ended the book on prejudice and racially motivated violence.

    Cool page.

  2. mklasing Says:

    Well said. Slavery is a huge stain on our history, but it is just that–history–and thanks to Martin Luther King and other who refused to stand by and allow human beings to be treated as less than human we rightfully ushered in the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Since then progress in the area of human relations in our Country is unparalleled in the World. The racial prejudice and profiling that goes on in the Middle East and other Nations makes the US look like perfection. Let’s stop apologizing for things none of us were alive to control and instead of focusing on the differences between people, lets focus on the similarities and move past the past. Sadly–it is in Rev. Jackson’s financial interests to keep racial prejudice going so he can continue to have a purpose. What a disservice he is doing to the Black community and our Nation as a whole.

    -Murphy

  3. Smokin Joe Says:

    Damnit, I meant to be more specific in that paragraph about Chain Gangs –

    The 20-30 years immediately following the abolishment of slavery was the time period I was talking about.

    And along the MLK Jr. mention – I love how our list of National Heroes includes so many people that fought and rebelled against the Government to help get us where we are today as far as increasing racial/gender rights.

    I’d love to see more apologies mention the many, many Americans (white/black/whatever) that were important to the Civil Rights Movement instead of always being so somber and remembering how awful it was – not saying to ignore the atrocities, but silver linings and positive stories of questioning authority are a rich part of this Nation’s and the World’s history as well.


Leave a Reply

